Latest News


CWA Dagger Awards 2015

3 January 2017

The Crime Writers' Association Daggers have been synonymous with quality crime writing for over fifty years.

These prestigious awards started in 1955 and over the years the number of CWA Daggers has increased (and occasionally decreased). Currently ten Daggers are awarded annually by the CWA.

CWA Dagger In The Library Award - Shortlisted Authors

Crime fans everywhere can nominate their favourite authors online and the ten authors with the most votes will make up the longlist. The Dagger in the Library is awarded not for an individual book but for an author's entire body of work and is one of six highly prized CWA Dagger Awards.

The following authors have all been shortlisted for this award and the 2015 winner will be announced at the CWA Awards Dinner on the 30th June.

  • Mark Billingham
  • Ann Cleeves
  • Christopher Fowler
  • Elly Griffiths
  • Peter May

Endeavour Historical Dagger Award - Shortlisted Title

Havana Sleeping by Martin Davies
Havana in the 1850s is a city as dangerous as it is exotic. The murder of a humble night watchman at the British Consulate seems to worry neither the Consul nor the police. But one person cared; the enigmatic courtesan, Leonarda. In wintry England, George Backhouse is plucked from obscurity in the Foreign Office and given an unexpected promotion. His task: to travel to Cuba and take a stand against the illegal slave trade. But Havana is a tinderbox of intrigue. To protect their interests, the powers-that-be in Whitehall are prepared to turn a blind eye to many things. Leonarda will not. But what of George Backhouse?

This title is available to purchase in both CD and MP3 CD formats.